I finally bought a mandolin.  And what was the first thing I did upon return home?  Make two varieties of chips, of course!

Apple chips were a sinch to make.  Slice the apple, sprinkle sugar + cinnamon + nutmeg mix on them, pop them in the dehydrator until they look done (several hours).  Verdict: not as good as I thought.  They were still a bit chewy.. I prefer a raw apple.

Potato chips were a bit more involved and didn’t come out as perfect.  I decided to go with salt and vinegar chips.  I cut the potatoes and then soaked the slices in vinegar (I actually put them in a skillet and simmered them for 5 minutes, then let them soak for a while.  After draining the liquid, I tossed them in oil, salt and pepper.  Spread them on a baking sheet and at 400 I cooked them about 20 minutes.  Verdit: the flavor was totally there, but the baking wasn’t.  Most of them cooked too much while the center ones didn’t cook enough.

